Rulebook (PDF)   Sorcerer Website

Sorcerer FAQ

 

Table of Contents

Reinforcing and Moving

Usually, players must take the reinforce action in order to move their minions and/or avatars between battlefields (see the base game rulebook for details). However, some effects say to “move” or “swap” minions and/or avatars between battlefields. This does not count as reinforcing them.

Some effects say to reinforce minions. When you do so, you may move and swap them with other minions as normal. However, you cannot move your avatar at the same time (like when you take the reinforce action). Similarly, some effects say to reinforce avatars. When you do so, you may move them as normal. However, you cannot move your minions at the same time (like when you take the reinforce action).

Note: While you can swap 2 of your own minions between different battlefields when you reinforce, you cannot swap your own minions/avatar with a teammate’s minions/avatar.

Some effects can move multiple minions at the same time (whether reinforcing or just “moving” them). For example, if you “reinforce 2 minions,” you can simultaneously swap minions A and B, as well as minions C and D. You cannot swamp A and B, then B and C (that would be moving B twice in a series, rather than moving all of the minions at the same time).

 

 

Crossed Swords and “Play a card”

If an ability has the Crossed Swords icon and lets you play (or put into play) a card that belongs in a battlefield, you must put the card into the ability’s battlefield.

Other than that, the ability’s Crossed Swords icon has no bearing on the played card’s text box.

Thenoch’s skill card reads: “[swords] Action: Exhaust this skill card to attach the top 2 cards of an opponent’s grimoire to this skill card. Then gain an omen and you may play a card from your hand or a card attached to this skill card (paying its cost).”

So, if you use your Thenoch skill card to play a minion, you must put it in the battlefield your avatar is in. If that minion has an ability without crossed swords, that ability is not restricted to any battlefield.

 

When you’re told to play a card or use an ability

Whenever one card tells you to play another card, unless stated otherwise:

  • You play the second card without spending an action.
  • You must still pay the second card’s cost. If you cannot pay its cost, skip playing the card.

Whenever one card tells you to activate a power (ability) of another card, unless stated otherwise:

 

 

  • You activate the power without spending an action.
  • You must still pay any additional costs stated in the ability text (for example, “you may discard a card to…”). If you cannot pay the costs, skip that part of the power. 

Counters and Tokens

Some counters have numbers on their backs. Use those backs to represent multiple of that counter as needed.

When a minion leaves play, return any counters on it to the counter pool. Those counters are available to be used by effects that call for those kinds of counters again in the future.

If an effect would generate a counter or token that you have run out of, it simply does not generate that counter or token. Apply the rest of the effect as normal (if any).

 

Non-minion Cards in Battlefields

Non-minion cards like Fortifications (see the Sigismund Character Pack) and Revelations (See the Sword of Gabriel Lineage Pack) do not count toward the maximum number of minions in a battlefield.

 

Battlefield Abilities

Battlefield expansion packs are available for Sorcerer! Players may use any combination of regular and/or expansion battlefields they wish.

Expansion battlefields have effects printed on their right-hand side and can affect and/or may be used by each player. When a battlefield is flipped to the conquered side, its effect no longer applies.

In Battle Royale (player vs player), battlefield abilities can only affect and/or may be used by players that are adjacent to those battlefields (see Battle Royale in the base game rulebook).

In Endbringer, if you choose to use expansion battlefields with abilities, place them face-up and ignore the damage tracks. The Nemesis will never use battlefield actions.

 

Teams and Omens/Fate

Players may spend omens and empty fate counters to reroll their teammate’s battle dice.

 

 

Copying Effects

If one card tells you to copy an effect from another card, resolve the effect as though it originated from the first card. For example, if you use Miselda’s Infiltrator to copy Paleface’s ability, you may choose to weaken Miselda’s Infiltrator. (You can’t choose to weaken Paleface.)

Miselda’s Infiltrator (Miselda, Base Game): [swords] When played: Copy the “When played” effect of a non-legend minion.

Paleface (Lunatic Asylum Domain Pack): [swords] When played: Gain an omen or weaken this minion twice. If you weaken, choose one: Deal 1 damage to a minion OR draw 2 cards.

Note: If you use a sorcery to copy Paleface’s ability, you cannot choose to weaken anything. (You can’t weaken the sorcery.)

 

 

When an Ongoing Ability Leaves Play

Some cards have ongoing abilities that trigger from specific events.

Bloodlord’s Voiceless Covenant: “[swords] Ongoing: Whenever a minion is destroyed (including this one), gain 1 blood.”

When an effect causes these cards to leave play, it is possible for the effect to simultaneously trigger the cards’ ongoing abilities. For example, if four of your minions including Voiceless Covenant are destroyed at the same time, you will gain 1 blood for each of them.

 

 

No Infinite Combos

An individual card cannot be played more than once in a single action (other cards with the same name may still be played).

You can play two cards with the same name in a single action only if you can demonstrate they are different cards. (For example, if your opponent can see both of them at the same time.) If you cannot demonstrate that a card is different, it counts as the same.

 

 

Card Notes

 

 

Disillusioned Artist (Forlorn Operahouse)

In addition to being a minion, Disillusioned Artist has every other card type. The rules for those extra card types do not apply to Disillusioned Artist (for example, you cannot play Disillusioned Artist as an attachment on another minion.)

Disillusioned Artist is not a legend. Nor does he count as a non-minion, non-sorcery, etc.

 

Tatsu + the Shapeshifter

Shapeshifter rules card: During the battle phase, you may exhaust your character skill card to allow your avatar to make an attack with a value of 1. This attack cannot be rerolled or modified.

Ignore the “this attack cannot be modified” part. You should still apply Tatsu’s +1 for each of their concealed cards.

 

 

Endbringer

 

Step 3: Choose the Archetype

You should choose one of the 4 oversized cards with “Archetype ~ Endbringer” printed on it. There are no cards with “Archetype ~ Horseman” printed on them, as was mistakenly stated in the 1st Edition English Rulebook.

 

Exceeding 7 Damage

While players are limited to rolling 7 battle dice, the Endbringer does not roll battle dice. The Endbringer’s minions can deal more than 7 damage.

 

Omens & Fate Counters

Players cannot spend omens or empty fate counters to change the amount of damage that enemy minions will deal.

 

Global Damage

If an ability with crossed swords deals Global Damage, that damage is not limited to any battlefield (it may be assigned to allied minions in other battlefields).

 

Discarded & Attached Types

After applying the “Endbringer Discard” and “Attaching Endbringer Cards” rules (see the Endbringer rulebook), any player effect that checks the characteristics of the discarded or attached cards counts them as non-legend cards with 0 cost, 0 attack, 0 essence, and no text.

 

Boon Counters

Boon counters cannot be placed unless Cultists are in the Ritual Chamber.

 

Arms Cards

Arms cards (from Arming the Horde) do not prevent damage.

 

Simultaneous Effects with the Endbringer

When both the endbringer and players have effects that need to be resolved at the same time, always resolve player effects first. Start with the player whose turn it is (who took an action or attacked last) and proceed clockwise for each other player. After all player effects are resolved, apply the endbringer’s effects.

 

Collateral Damage

Some expansion packs deal collateral damage (see the Forsaken Church Domain Pack and Seth Character Pack). When playing Endbringer, each point of collateral damage must be assigned to an enemy minion or monolith with the most essence or defense in that battlefield. However, this damage cannot be assigned to a Monolith with only 1 defense remaining.

For example, you deal 4 collateral damage in a battlefield where there is a monolith with 2 defense and an enemy minion with 2 essence. Since both are tied, the first damage may be assigned to either. You pick the Monolith. Now, the minion has higher essence, so it takes the second damage. Although both are tied again, the third damage must be assigned to the minion, since collateral damage cannot destroy a monolith. That destroys the minion. The fourth damage cannot be assigned at all and is lost.

Note: While a battlefield has multiple monoliths, use the defense of the top monolith (you cannot damage monoliths underneath it).

 

The Hellraiser (Endbringer) + Stealing Omens

Unseelie Provocateur (Bewitched Woodland) and Envy (Seth) may steal omen counters from the Hellraiser’s minions.

 

Endbringer + Sword of Gabriel

The Thaumaturge’s Denial card cancels sorceries. Since the Endbringer’s actions are not sorceries, Denial cannot be used against them. However, this lineage includes 3 Host of Restoration, which can allow you to discard Denial to gain a light counter!

 

Thenoch vs the Endbringer

Whenever a Thenoch effect attaches a card from the Endbringer’s “Grimoire”, instead attach that card from any player’s Grimoire (you choose which player).